top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

11 Tips to boost YOUR inspiration

Many people have asked me where I get my inspiration. Is it something writers are born with or can everyone become a writer? #Inspiration

Well I can only speak for myself. I had a pretty sad childhood with not much inspiration in my day to day life, yet sometimes I astound myself with the mayhem in my mind! I firmly believe inspiration is developed through life experiences.

“Sometimes I sit and stare at the page and can't seem to motivate myself to write. It's like I can't shut off from life.”

Below is a list of my recommendations for you to boost YOUR inspiration.

1. READ

Of course top of the list is to make a cup of coffee or tea (or pour a glass of wine) and read something - specifically the genre you plan to write. It is important to create your own ideas, characters and story-lines, but it is a great way to get the feel of what others are writing and get those creative juices flowing again. Aim to be different! Find that unique thread of truth in your story, but be inspired by others. Read books, magazines, and even hero comics if it suits your intended genre! Anything could prompt you be it a name, a description of a place, person or other, a written tone of voice, the list is endless.

2. STALK (I am not talking harassing a specific person here! THAT is illegal!)

Writing a story requires the writer to be a 'stalker' of sorts! Don't go 'naming and shaming' us now! It is actually a very important part of a writer's job. We study people's mannerisms and clothing, and eavesdrop on private conversations and will use either of these (or both) with reckless abandon. This is how readers of all shapes, sizes, colours and creeds get to relate to the characters in our books. The world is made up of interesting people, even though they may believe they are ordinary.

3. NEWS

Another important resource for me is the news. Yes, as depressing as it is these days! The news. Whether you watch TV, read the paper or get your news via social platforms it is filled with trials and tragedy of real life events. Again people can relate to these events, especially if your book is written with regard to local events for local readers.

Celebrity gossip, of course, is also great for drama-filled romance novels! Oh and even history! Some of the greatest stories ever lived are right there in history! Whether it be war, religion, love, inventions, leaders, etc. At some stage even history was someone's current news!

4. CREATIVITY REBOOT

Here I refer to MOVIES, ART, MUSIC, SCULPTURE, ETC.

Personally I love a movie to get the creative juices flowing! It is a quick inspiration fix-all for me! I get to pick specific concepts and expand on them in a local context. Also it gives me an excuse to be a couch potato on a rainy afternoon, with a big bowl of pop-corn.

Art (be it drawing, painting, graffiti) and sculpturing may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it can be away to distract and dislodge your mind's bottle-neck whilst expressing yourself with your hands. Perhaps the colours or brushstrokes, or the feeling of moulding the clay in your hand's might spark something different to the blank page before you.

When I can't seem to think beyond the 'box' in my mind I turn the music on and dance off the dust, much to the outrage of my neighbours I am sure. This could include baking and cooking (and possibly include some wine tasting). #CreativityReboot

5. TRAVEL

Wouldn't we all love to travel to exciting new and exotic places? Experience the people! Taste the food! Appreciate the weather! ... and dance to the rhythmic music! Alas money, time and responsibilities often don't permit us to do so. If you are unable to travel abroad, why not try a holiday in a different city, a drive to a place very different to your current surrounds, or even just try out a foreign restaurant in your own hometown. Read a travel magazine or recipe book of a foreign country! (but please make sure you have eaten before you do so!)

6. INTERNET

Another tip from me ... When I write a book I like to find pictures on the internet of each character or something pivotal in the book. I keep this as my inspiration, for let's say the character, and I refer back to this picture when I write about them. Think Pintrest, Flickr, Google images, you get the picture (HAHA you see what I did there!?)

Join a group or forum on the internet to hear other REAL stories. Be it a self-help group, weight-loss group, a sports group, fashion, etc etc. This will help your character be more authentic and remember real stories help you connect to real people. It is crucial to do research.

7. JOT IT DOWN

Keep a notepad with you at all times to write down things you see or hear, and ideas as they come to you. Even the crazy ones! Like dreams! Don't know about you but cheese makes me dream! If I lack inspiration I eat cheese!! (Mmmmm think I might've been a mouse in a previous life!) No matter how ridiculous it may seem, if you don't use it in your current book, you may do so in another.

8. PETS & CHILDREN

Apart from watching complete strangers (refer to # 2 above) pets and children can be inspirational. They have no sense of consequence and both have unbridled imagination. Sometimes us adults get controlled by our own responsibility, such as : "I can't make my character do that because .....!" Stop it! Your character can do anything and be anyone. Just watch children playing, or the antics of your pets, then put your character into the same situation.

9. BLOGS, BOOK CLUBS & WRITING CIRCLES

Sometimes the opinions of other people can be a source of inspiration allowing you to see a different point of view. They do not need to agree with you for you to be inspired, and it mind send your writing in a whole new direction that you never thought of! It is also a great to connect with like-minded people ... think 'PROOF READERS' and 'REVIEWS'. Often Writing Circles in particular offer a group of seasoned writers who can provide valuable advice. Also, these groups often hold genre specific event for you to meet other local writers in your genre!

10. THINGS

Surround yourself with 'things' that may be RELEVANT to your topic writing, or perhaps that could be incorporated. I find being surrounded with 'things' (think action figures, antiques, statues, jewellery, military medals, gem stones, etc) I am constantly connected to the genre, the character or the item that connects the story. It gives me something tangible to hold and feel. Hard to describe let's say a medal, if you have never really held one - felt it's weight, it's texture, even it's smell.

If all else fails ..... DISCONNECT TO RECONNECT

Sometimes I get bogged down in the story that it doesn't flow easily. To re-inspire myself I need to empty my mind, so that I can selectively fill it up again with fresh ideas. To do this I force myself to close the laptop and either put on the headphones to go for a walk in nature (even in my small garden); or I meditate. There are plenty of guided meditations available on line, try these ones from YouTube "Meditation for Writers: Meet Your Muse" or "Spoken Meditation for CREATIVE Flow... Let Your Creativity Free Guided Relaxation" . Once the mind is empty you can start gathering all those inspirational snippets for your book again.

If any of you wish to share some knowledge or suggestions regarding your own self-publishing experience feel free to join the Facebook group: Self-Publishing Group (South Africa).

If you enjoyed this post please share!

with love and light

Search By Tags
Archive
RSS Feed
RSS feed
bottom of page